Getting started

Now it’s time to get things started.

Until I have an idea of what’s going on with my health and a plan to fix it I’ll slowly start easing myself into a fitness routine and healthier lifestyle.

I started a few weeks ago by eating a 2 egg and veggie omelette with an English muffin topped with homemade almond butter and honey instead of bagels or muffins. I also have 1 tsp honey and 1 tos apple cider vinegar with a cup of warm water first thing in the morning. The apple cider vinegar drink has already made a huge difference with the bloating. I no longer look 6 months pregnant. My stomach may still be bigger than I’d like but at least it’s not longer round. Without the bloating my waist is a full inch smaller. Just that small improvement is encouraging.

I’m keeping up again with the vitamins and supplements advised by my naturopothic doctor and my thyroid medication. I’ve increased my walking time every weekday by about 20min. There’s a nice walking path close by I use after dropping my son off at school.

I’m also working on  getting my house organized so cleaning will be faster and I’ll have more time to focus on myself. Once I don’t have to stay up so late cleaning I’ll be able to go to bed earlier which I’m sure will help. Right now I get between 4-6 hours of  interrupted sleep.

It’s been a few days since I contacted my family doctor to see if she’s seen my test results. I have access to my blood work results and saw my creatinine levels are below normal so I’m waiting to see what she says about that. I also had an internal and external ultrasound to check things out since I’ve been having problems with my hormones and irregular cycles. Hopefully I’ll know the results soon.

I’m also trying to focus on my stress and anxiety so I’ve been taking  a simple detox bath every other or every two nights. I use a body brush and brush my body starting at my feet and working my way to my heart. What I’ve read is that helps with circulation and opening your pores to release toxins. After that I soak for 20min in the detox bath containing hot water, 1 cup Epsom salt, 1/2 cup baking soda and 10 drops of lavender essential oil. Even if the detox part doesn’t work it leaves me feeling very relaxed.


Some of my future goals include eating more of a paleo and clean eating diet. Specifically cutting down on bread and sugar. I think dairy affects me.me . so I want to cut down on that also.

Over the next few weeks I will be working even more on decluttering and organizing the house. I just finished a 14 day declutter challenge and have a pile of stuff to get rid of already. Once I have to spend less time on my cleaning I can put more focus on my family, health and mental state.ive gone far too long not being able to do things out enjoy because cleaning had taken over my life.

Hopefully these small changes will start to help and I’ll get the answers I need soon. I’m tired of everyday being a struggle and not getting to live the life I want to live. I’m ready to be the fun mom again that has the energy to go to the park more often, not need to rest after doing 5 minutes of cleaning and be able to think more clearly. I’m ready to be me again.

Author: Whole New Start

Hi, I'm Amber. I'm a stay at home mother of two and a wife. I love being creative whether it's crafts, sewing, crocheting, knitting or writing. I'm a huge bookworm and would prefer a good book over just about any other form of entertainment. I was born and raised in Alabama but currently live in Canada with my husband and children. I recently started having health issues and this is what the blog is about. Finding my way back to healthy and wholesomeness. I look forward to sharing my journey and hope you enjoy going on this journey with me.

Leave a Reply

